All the highlights from the first race of the Castrol Historic Touring Cars are now available to view on our YouTube Channel.
cars took to the circuit in diabolical conditions on Saturday morning at Mt Panorama for the first race of the weekend. Despite the conditions there were many great battles throughout the field as the smaller capacity cars were given a moment to shine.

Image Credit: Nathan Wong / Bathurst Motor Festival

A standout performance has to go to twelfth placed David Brown who got his Datsun 1600 up and mixing it with some more fancied machinery in the wet conditions.

Image Credit: Nathan Wong / Bathurst Motor Festival

However, as per the norm at Bathurst, there isn’t a substitute for cubic inches and Brad Tilley managed his the best taking home a comfortable victory in his Ford Mustang,



1 Bradley Tilley (NSW) Ford Mustang

2 Darryl Hansen (WA) Ford Mustang

3 Dean Neville (NSW) Chevrolet Camaro

4 Vince Macri (NSW) Chevrolet Camaro

5 John Harrison (NSW) Ford Mustang

6 Michael Anderson (NSW) Ford Falcon

7 Andrew Whiteside (NSW) Ford Mustang

8 Michael Cannon (QLD) Ford Falcon

9 Michael Hibbert (VIC) Valiant Charger R/T

10 Harry Bargwanna (NSW) Ford Mustang

11Alfred Bargwanna (NSW) Holden Torana

12 David Brown (VIC) Datsun 1600

13 Wayne Potts (NSW) Holden Monaro

14 Bruce Dummett (QLD) Holden Torana

15 Mark Le Vaillant (NSW) Ford Falcon

16 Matthew Windsor (NSW) Lotus Cortina

17 Stephen Shepard (NSW) Mazda RX2

18 Stewart Follows (NSW) Datsun 1600

19 Tony Gilfuis (WA) Ford Capri

20 Stuart Barnes (SA) Ford Mustang

21 Michael Cross (TAS) Holden Torana XU1

22 Rodney Barrett (VIC) Lotus Cortina

23 Troy Williams (NSW) Ford Mustang

24 Christopher Frost (SA) Holden Torana XU1 3

25 Martin Macri (NSW) Holden EH

26 David Noakes (NSW) Ford Escort

27 Colin Simpson (NSW) Holden Torana XU1

28 Craig Robertson (NSW) Valiant Charger

29 Stuart Young (WA) Holden Torana

30 David Waddington (QLD) Ford Cortina

31 Bruce Forsyth (QLD) BMW 1971

32 Robert Munday (NSW) Ford Mustang

33 Andrew Rankin (QLD) Toyota Corolla KE20

34 James Waugh (QLD) BMW 2002

35 John Clarke (NSW) Ford Mustang

DNF Quentin Bland (NSW) Ford Capri

DNF Rodney Wood (VIC) Holden 48-215

DNF Ronald Blake (QLD) Holden Torana

Leave a Reply